a listicle

07.12.12back& forth
-------------------------------------


weeeeeeekend in review

friday

went to the lake right after work where sitting in beach chairs with my mom.
texted with beezy bee & then went for a swim.
peaced out on friday night and drove to asheville. with the windows down for a good bit of time, singing my face off to songs both new & nostalgic. so good. empty streets. cool air rushing through the car. a friday, with a whole weekend ahead! i felt SO HAPPY.
saturday
sleeping in til 10am - heaven.
morning swim & some quality time in the hot tub making friends with the other residents of my aunt�s retirement home. that�s going to be me in 50 years, knock on wood - lap swimming it up and chilling in a hot tub afterwards.
straight onto bikram. where i somehow managed to get the farthest i have ever gotten into half moon even though i can only go to class a few times every month or so as the closest studio is 2.5 hours away. it�s fine, i still tottered like a newborn lamb during standing head to knee pose but the whole class was just so enjoyable.
tried the turkey bacon sandwich at panera and it was delicious. followed by some sour straws, my favorite candy that i can find hardly anywhere but is magically at the walgreens in asheville.
the casual hanging out with my aunt - watering the plants, walking the dog, reading our books, watching the news, having dinner at the big house.
saw the woody allen movie to rome with love. it was cute, the theatre laughed, i thought some of the dialogue was clunky but it was so nice to go to a movie theatre that was showing 15 movies instead of the ones usually near me that show 3.
stayed up late texting, playing scramble, and reading harry potter 6.
sunday

slept in til 9:30 - again, heaven.
had breakfast and chatted with my aunt for a while, her talking about trips and asking lots of questions about the bar
went to church with my aunt. it was so, so nice and moving and didn�t get my hackles up like some masses do. they have a really good choir and some of the mass was in arabic and hebrew, because there is a summer program going on where students from jaffa come for interfaith dialogue. so great.
saw my favorite of her friends, little anne, and we schemed to make plans the next time i come to visit.
teared up a few times, which was probably a release from all the secondary trauma and constantly having to watch my back these past couple weeks. it felt like i was able to let my guard down and that was nice and much needed
ate brownies and drank lemonade in my new navy striped dress and watched my aunt feel like a celebrity with everyone coming up to her to say hi
made shrimp & salad with ginger dressing, walked the dog.
rolled outta town, drove through the gorge, stopped at nantahala and chatted with a man who�d just finished kayaking about the best kayaks, listened to a lot of sweet tunes
had dinner at my mom�s friend�s house, dipped my feet in a warm pool, got loved on by two new dogs (molly and meeka), ate really good guacamole and zucchini from the garden
walked on the treadmill while reading my kindle to round out the weekend and help digest some of the delicious dinner we just had
this was a good egg of a weekend. gonna keep this one in my pocket this week.


-------------------------------------
archive. profile. notes. random.