on brown paper packages tied up with string

03.11.13back& forth
-------------------------------------


1. Favorite childhood book? Little House on the Prairie.
2. What are you reading right now? Top of the Rock: Inside the Rise and Fall of Must See TV
3. What books do you have on request at the library? I don't have any out right now, but I have about a million waiting for me on my Kindle.
4. Bad book habit? Buying books and not reading them for months.
5. What do you currently have checked out at the library? Nothing, at the moment. I've switched over from library borrowing to Kindle buying.
6. Do you have an e-reader? Yes. A Kindle Fire, which was a lovely gift.
7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once? I used to read one book at a time, but since finishing law school I read several at a time. Unless the book is so engrossing I have to finish it in a day or two, then I keep it to just the one without interruption. See: Gone Girl, Where'd You Go Bernadette?
8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog? I started this blog in 2001. My reading habits have changed in bits and pieces over the years (leaner years, heavier years) but still pretty much the same - if I find an author I like, I will read everything they have ever published.
9. Least favourite book you read this year (so far)? I've liked all of this year's books!
10. Favorite book you�ve read this year? Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed.
11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone? If I get a glowing recommendation who's opinion I value, I'll branch out happily. By this age, I pretty much know if I'm going to like a book, though.
12. What is your reading comfort zone? Memoir, dark family comedies, short stories/new media, biographies.
13. Can you read on the bus? I can read anywhere, and have - bus, boat, plane, train.
14. Favorite place to read? In bed.
15. What is your policy on book lending? I'll lend out a book if I trust the person to bring it back. If it's a book I'm never going to read again, I'll just give it away.
16. Do you ever dog-ear books? Yes.
17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books? Yes. I was a huge annotator in high school, and I kind of missed it - I decided to annotate A Visit From the Goon Squad and it was a wholly enjoyable exercise. Some notes, some memories, some poetry.
18. Not even with text books? Definitely text books.
19. What is your favourite language to read in? English.
20. What makes you love a book? Learning something about the human condition. A story that makes me laugh. A character that shows me who they are. A place or space I've never known.
21. What will inspire you to recommend a book? If I laughed hard, if it made me cry in public, if I felt that it changed me, if I felt someone I know would love it.
22. Favorite genre? At the moment, really into memoir or fictional memoir, essentially.
23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did)? Would love to revisit the classical canon and read a lot of books I read as a young child/teenager, but there's so many new things to read it's hard to go back sometimes.
24. Favourite biography? Mountains Beyond Mountains.
25. Have you ever read a self-help book? Sure.
26. Favourite cookbook? The internet is my cookbook.
27. Most inspirational book you�ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)? Definitely Tiny Beautiful Things.
28. Favorite reading snack? Pretzels. Chips. A giant glass of ice cold water and refills.
29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.
30. How often do you agree with critics about a book?
31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?
32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose?
33. Most intimidating book you�ve ever read? Don Quijote in Spanish.
34. Most intimidating book you�re too nervous to begin?
35. Favorite Poet? Margaret Atwood. Or Neruda.
36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time? In my heyday, the average would be about 9.
37. How often have you returned books to the library unread? Once in a blue moon.
38. Favorite fictional character?
39. Favourite fictional villain?
40. Books I�m most likely to bring on vacation?
41. The longest I�ve gone without reading. Without reading anything at all? That'd be never, not even on backpacking trips solo - always had a journal or a book along for the ride.
42. Name a book that you could/would not finish. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.
43. What distracts you easily when you�re reading? Nothing.
44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel? High Fidelity.
45. Most disappointing film adaptation?
46. The most money I�ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time? Probably on textbooks - $800+ one semester.
47. How often do you skim a book before reading it? Not too often.
48. What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through?
49. Do you like to keep your books organized? Yes. By color.
50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you�ve read them? Depends how much I love them. I now generally only buy books now that I know I'm going to love and want to keep - a Sedaris, a Didion, a Strayed, a Troppman, a book of poetry.
51. Are there any books you�ve been avoiding? Jonathan Franzen. The hype makes me want to ignore it.


-------------------------------------
archive. profile. notes. random.