on a new year

01.16.22back& forth
-------------------------------------


watching great british bakeoff: happy new year
pausing to watch a ball drop on youtube, hooray
singing all my favorite songs about new years at the top of my lungs to my husband, bless his heart. how did i go to so many alkaline trio shows? death cab for cutie still slaps, as the kids say

"so this is the new year and i don't feel any different"

everybody put your best suit and dress on
(this, i would like to steal for a poem)
and pretend that we are wealthy for just this once
(this is the kind of thing that makes me want to write again)

and one of my favorite lyrics ever:

i wish the world was flat like the old days
then i could travel just by folding a map
no more airplanes, or speed trains, or freeways
there'd be no distance that can hold us back

*

we have spent the last year without concrete plans.
we spend most of our days indoors, clicking away on our respective computers so the check comes on friday
i cried tears of joy getting vaccinated
i cancelled my wedding
and all the millions of other decisions we made over the last two years
we never stopped masking and will continue to do so
but we are making fucking plans
and we will cancel if we have to, but we are booking flights and the plan
is to get
the fuck
out of here

in chicago, hopefully we will watch my sister in law match to her residency
take the architectural boat tour i have always wanted to take
eat at alinea
and the beauty of going to a city i've never been

we are lucky and someone made us cruise reservations for my birthday
let's see how much of a shitshow that will be and if they don't cancel it.

miami for a night to see juan luis guerra

all these hopes and dreams and plans; but mostly trying to enjoy right now - being present

*
like my counting crows always say,

I can't remember all those times I tried to hold on
to these moments as they pass...

and maybe this year will be better than the last

*




-------------------------------------
archive. profile. notes. random.