outside this library tonight

12.10.04back& forth
-------------------------------------


dear loves of my life

you will understand. i've been sitting in perkins library (millions of volumes) here in my little duke university. i just got here about half an hour ago, and i've been reading and thinking about AIDS and HIV and sootey mangebees and the nature of disease and all these other social aspects and cultural influences for my biology final in about two hours. for my biology class that i absolutely love. and through this, i've been listening to ani difranco on my ipod. thinking how some songs just take you back. i looked up at the rows and rows of books from where i was sitting. and thought. hey. i am in college. and listening to a song. that reminds me of this place, right here, this page, and all these writings, the visual image of my words on the page. and then it was the lyric that "the road ahead is painted on the wall" and i remember reading that on a white page with crisp black boxes from jamie's diaryland page. and. i thought about claywell, and feeling small with him, and highschool, and my house in miami, exactly where i would sit and read and think about life, and then get up and live it. but also live it in writing words here and thinking about things and loving things and people and the entire process.

and then i wanted to get up and write this all down. so here i am, two hours away from a biology final, still listening to ani difranco, looking at the rows of flourescent lights above me that move down the ceiling like a train track, thinking of you, the very person reading this, where you are, where are you, and thinking of me writing this, where i am, i am right here. and being so very grateful for both.

i feel like this doesn't need an ending, i just want to say this: i am so glad you exist. thank you for reading the words that i write. and thank you for writing and letting me read it. for leaving me comments and helping me move through parts in my life by just being there.

love &biology,
katie
ps, sometimes i live here too: http://littlespoon.deviantart.com. i am the little spoon ♥.if you are on there, leave me a little note or something and i will add you. i love seeing people's photos, and since i'm obviously in love with you all i want you there too. xo's.


-------------------------------------
archive. profile. notes. random.