what i like to do in the summer

06.19.07back& forth
-------------------------------------


Books I've Read (in my first post-LSAT week);

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥= amazing
♥ ♥ ♥= good
♥ ♥= okay
♥= disappointing


Prozac Nation, Elizabeth Wurtzel (MEMOIR). "But once I actually got there, once I discovered the air in Cambridge didn't tingle, once I found out it was a place like any other only more so, once I realized that my classmates were not glamourous sophisticates but just a bunch of hormones on legs like teenagers throughout the country, I think I decided I might as well drug my way through. Pass the pills and fancy plants / Give us this day our daily trance." ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Lullaby, Chuck Palahniuk (NOVEL). "The sound shivers through the walls, through the table, through the window frame, and into my finger. These distraction-oholics. These focus-ophobics. Old George Orwell got it backward. Big Brother isn't watching. He's singing and dancing. He's pulling rabbits out of a hat. Big Brother's holding your attention every moment you're awake. He's making sure you're always distracted. He's making sure you're fully absorbed." ♥ ♥ ♥

Freakonomics, Steven Levitt & Stephen Dubner (NONFICTION). "But they are all trying to signal something with a name, whether the name is Winner or Loser, Madison or Amber, Shithead or Sander, DeShawn or Jake. What the Califonia names data suggest is that an overwhelming number of parents use a name to signal their own expectations of how successful their children will be. The name isn't likely to make a shard of difference. But the parents can at least feel better knowing that, from the very outset, they tried their best." ♥ ♥ ♥

Letters to a Young Poet, Rainer Maria Rilke (COLLECTION). "So you must not be frightened if a sadness rises up before you larger than any you have ever known, if a restiveness, like light and cloud shadow passes over your hands and over all that you do. You must think that something is happening with you, that life has not forgotten you, that it holds you in its hand; it will not let you fall." ♥ ♥ ♥


BOOKS I'M CURRENTLY READING

Nine Stories, J.D. Salinger (reread)
Paradise, Toni Morrison
Searching for God Knows What, Donald Miller
Something to Declare, Julia Alvarez


BOOKS THAT I'VE ORDERED

Running With Scissors, Augusten Burroughs
The Time Traveller's Wife, Audrey Niffenegger
Bring me your saddest Arizona, Ryan Harty
Chuck Klosterman IV : a decade of curious people and dangerous ideas, Chuck Klosterman
Moral disorder, Margaret Atwood
The Tent, Margaret Atwood
How to breathe underwater: stories, Julie Orringer
A heartbreaking work of staggering genius, Dave Eggers



-------------------------------------
archive. profile. notes. random.