because i'll forget this sooner than you'd think

01.31.13back& forth
-------------------------------------


"if you want to date him, let him ask you out. if you just want to jump his bones, honey, for the love of god you don't need to go to an art museum. there are faster ways."

hi. drinking beers and walking into their startup's party and playing n64 with a bunch of engineers in their conference room. "fuck you jigglypuff" and a bunch of guys deciding i was their ultimate target. him sitting directly next to me and showing me powerups. "bowser's on a mission" - my comeback playing mario kart. (an aside: i was given the prize of an n64 for winning a reading contest. read the most books in south florida, win a prize, raise some money for charity. prize: meet some basketball players (awesome, 'zo forever), be gifted an n64. let the irony sink in.) winning at mario. hi. knees grazing. "bridge? bridge." the second i put my hand down on a chairback, he went to the other side of the table to make sure he was my partner. shots fired. him giving me his umbrella in the rain because he had a hoodie on. it's okay, we can share. last week we huddled for warmth, this time we'll get out of the rain. it's always awkward to try to walk with someone under an umbrella. it's fine, we can handle it. arms touching, my side and his side. avoiding puddles.

want to go somewhere else?
sure. where to?
well, i don't really know this area too well..
how about kramer's? have you been there before?
no, but let's go.

order me something good.
two cabs, please. the bartender looks at me knowingly, was in here last week. family stories and dreams and college and travels and books, 12 in a series 1000 pages. SNL and bernadette and ESPN. next time: didion. chavs and sexists and surprise parties and magnet schools and art. this exhibit i want to see. would you like to go sometime? how about this weekend? lunch, and a museum? what time? i like this initiative, this boldness. makes me happy.

metro escalator. wait, it makes no sense that i'm on the taller one. walking around to the step below me, there, that's better. hi. snuggling my face into his hoodie. you're so warm, i could stay here for a while. putting his arm around me. looking up. looking at me. a few times, just looking at each other. is he going to lean in? i don't mind being bold, i like his pursuit already. kissing his cheek. kissing his mouth. kissing under his umbrella that he gave me while it's raining all around us. mm you're cute, i say, stepping off the escalator. you're more than cute, he says as we round the bend back up. closed metro.

cabs it is. we'll have an adventure no matter what.
but wait, i want to kiss you again, because that was fun.

making out in the rain. in a monsoon. in dupont, on connecticut avenue. like a scene out of the movies. on my tip toes - you're so tall. his labored breathing - is there anything hotter? my skin is singed. kissing me and breathing like he means it, needs it, leaning into it. so hot. wrapping his arms tighter around me, i can feel him. scooting closer and biting his lip.

i'm a good kisser and you're a fast learner and that thing could float us a long time.

to the eaves to wait out some cabs. night, and a kiss. see you sunday, he says.

and i just laid in bed curled up for ten minutes, no time passing at all, just thinking about it, and how i can't wait.


-------------------------------------
archive. profile. notes. random.