on narcissism

03.18.13back& forth
-------------------------------------


I imagine, in other words, that the notebook is about other people. But of course it is not. I have no real business with what one stranger said to another at the hat-check counter in Pavillon. Nor is my concern with a woman in a dirty crepe-de-Chine wrapper in a Wilmington bar. My stake is always, of course, in the unmentioned girl in the plaid silk dress. Remember what it was to be me: that is always the point.
� Joan Didion, On Keeping a Notebook

at this moment in time

reading - picked up my kindle last night and made it three page turns before falling fast asleep
doing - crossword puzzles on patios and in beds
listening to - the radio in the car rolling around town running errands. paul simon. him singing me for emily. homeward bound in my head. songza sunshine indie pop. podcasts.
taking - antibiotics, antihistamines, back rubs with abandon.
eating - st. arnold's mussels, pho, sushi - volcano rolls with extra ginger.
drinking - hard apple ciders, pear ciders, ginger beer, water from the snowflake cup.
smoking - turkish silvers when the opportunity arises
sweating - swimming, jacuzzi-ing, riding a certain boyfriend, running.
annoyed at - getting sick on my days off. headaches. dirty floors c/o my roommates. dishes in the sink.
excited about - a new project. spring coming - dresses without tights, running in shorts, weekends of sunshine, my pool opening again. getting on a plane in a few weeks. all the june weddings.
worried about - saving & trying not to purchase everything under the sun because the bee and i are ready to shop like crazy.
mantra on repeat - i have everything i need, i am everything i need, this is everything i need.



-------------------------------------
archive. profile. notes. random.