on boat rides through our history

08.17.15back& forth
-------------------------------------


this year has been full to the brim. so many stories to tell.
just wrote one hazily on my iphone:

Thinking about people I haven't for years.

Last night I remembered my dream. Woke up not knowing where I was, was I in North Carolina for... Law school, wait that's not right, Miami, Georgia, DC, Maryland...

But first (ala Big Brother), a true story: I ran into an old friend a few weeks ago in a salad joint here. We had three subsequent dinners, lunches, workout dates. Celebrated National Oyster day with wine and a washingtonian 100 establishment.

we picked up and caught up on 8 years in 3 hours.

But my dream// I ran into an old love, an old friend, while we were boating, and I was so happy, so full of sun and rays of light. And he was still the death star, sucking life out of people at every turn. And I woke up crying. Happy, we'd kissed. Were emo and sunny together. Sad, that would mean I cheated on my boyfriend. Dreamland is always a trip, a thrill, this morning I felt like I was living a totally separate life.

Sometimes people disappear. And sometimes you run into them getting salad and have the pleasure of their company once again. No death stars, just the love bound between two people who have shared a boatload of memories.

Sad as it may be, you just can't make old friends.
This friend has known me for more than half my life. We used to celebrate Cheistmas in July-- so fitting we ran into each other on the 24th.

Life is messy, no doubt, but sometimes it wraps things up so neatly, Tory Burch bows and wallets, lululemon headbands, and unintentionally matching fitbits and longchamps. Her sunglasses Dior, mine Rayban aviators. Can't take the Miami out of the girl.


-------------------------------------
archive. profile. notes. random.