on better days

08.09.21back& forth
-------------------------------------


Today I received such a nice email from my mom that I filed it away into my "warm and fuzzy emails" and was reading through a few as I filed it away. I read somewhere a while ago to make one and look into it when you feel sad or are experiencing impostor syndrome. Before I ever read that, I kept a letter of recommendation from my favorite boss on my fridge for the entirety of law school and it really helped. I just found one he wrote as a reference and then was nice enough to email to me - " If we were to use a scale of one to ten (ten being the pinnacle) I can’t think of a category where I would rate her anything less than 10. She is a team player, well mannered, great work ethic, pleasant, follows instructions and capable of performing independently." a collection of my lived lives, some that seem such a long long time ago: work praise from a really tough but fair boss, birthday emails from my grandmother, investment discussions with my dad several years ago, emails I sent to my parents more than ten years ago, notes from old coworkers. i was reading these, and others, and realizing i'd spent the day without listening to music, unusually. i turned on my liked spotify songs -- i've been listening to "better days" by dermot kennedy - he is new to me, of course i love the lyrics: "soon, we'll be dancing in the sun..."

and this perfect turn of words from an email -- i love when someone says just the right thing in the right moment -- that made me want to post them here, for you and for me and for all of us:
"Take good care. These and better things are the shape of things to come for you, I know."


-------------------------------------
archive. profile. notes. random.