twenty two

03.13.08back& forth
-------------------------------------


i had one of the best birthdays in years.

i stayed up with my roomie and at midnight she said happy birthday ♥. we drove around with the windows down and laughed and listened to music and i had a drink or three and we stayed up, just us in the apartment. it was so nice and peaceful just the two of us, she is a very easy person to be around at times. however, i was sort of flipping out about turning twenty two! the last couple minutes i just felt - these are my last minutes of being twenty one. and i'm not sure why that mattered, but it felt like it did.

i'm growing up, i guess. and birthdays are reminders of the marks we are making and the wind passing through the trees. so in this analogy.. i suppose i am tree. or the wind? i think both.

on my birthday day i was woken up to my mom calling to wish me a happy birthday and to tell me to jump in the car because we were going out to lunch. also on my phone were about a million texts, voicemails, and fbook messages wishing me a happy birthday, which was nice.

the best part of my day was laughing and joking with my parents and my brother at lunch. it's actually rare that all four of us go out somewhere together, even though i live ten minutes away, so it was great to see them and go out. i wanted sea food, so we went to this great place on the beach. i had calamari and crabs legs - so delicious! by the time we got home, i was so happy i'd forgotten about presents. i received some beautiful cards from friends and family, a really awesome backpack for when i go biking, and a ton of cold hard cash for my adventures this summer. i was SHOCKED and so very excited. i need to pick my spain and egypt trips soon.

by that time, i went back to the apt and made plans for the night. went to south beach to opa, had sangria and cheers-ed with my favorite girlfriends, danced on tables, ate delicious greek food. it just felt great to be surrounded by my friends. then we went to b.e.d. and purdy lounge for more dancing. the air was crisp and at one point i took off my shoes walking on the beach and we danced and water tasted delicious and drinks were great and we ran into other friends and it was just a great night on south beach.

i felt lucky and loved. this was one of my favorite birthdays EVER! in fact, it's right up there with my fifteenth surprise quince. so 22, here's to you. this year is going to be so life-changing and amazing, i can already feel it. (this year i'll be a 1L and a 2L! AAAH!!! life sure is moving fast.)


-------------------------------------
archive. profile. notes. random.