welcome to the district

04.18.08back& forth
-------------------------------------


i'm in d.c. now!

last night i went out to this beautiful little bar with ivy and an open back room and sweet drink deals. two vodka tonics and hanging out with one of my favorite people in the world equals a fabulous night out in georgetown. seriously, it was so good to see sam. i miss all my guy friends. i've realized since i transfered i have a ton of really close, amazing girl friends, but less guy friends. i'm not quite sure how it happened, but that's just my life right now. anyways, he and i went to costa rica together, so we reminisced, talked about dc, had dinner with a bunch of grad students in his program (biotech at georgetown) who were hilarious and awesome, and made fun of each other. my kind of night! it was so so nice.

today i spent the day at 'admitted students day' at american university. everytime i go to these damn days, basically eight hours of tours, talks, food, and processing information, i come out mostly euphoric, then the amount of information i have just received hits my brain all at once and i burst into tears and usually want sleep for a long long time, rendering me a completely useless human being with no desire to do anything but lounge. such is life, and big decision making.

today was really awesome though. i slept in the most comfortable bed in this adorable little row house in georgetown, talked to my cousin in the morning and her roomies are so nice, took a cab to AU, and pretty much fell in love with american law, so i think i might be in dc next year! i met a friend from highschool who's a 1L, met some miami people and of course we know twelve million people in common (story of my life) and had two white chocolate mochas. a starbucks right across the street? it is just like umiami's campus, and i love it.

right now i'm in bed, trying to get my mind out of these decisions or wrap my head around them or something somewhere, dreaming and falling. egypt trip is booked! camila comes in next week! two weeks left of school, then graduation. this semester is flying by.

in the last weeks, i've had some great nights. one night lins and i went to dinner and talked about everything going on in our lives. she's going to get her phD, i'm getting my JD, love, life, friends, time, family, everything... we just get each other. then another night we had another din and had these delicious tequila drinks and i was drunk and happy and we went to the library and it was just a hilarious night.

so, i keep thinking that life has a way of working itself the way it should... my mom told me to think of all the schools i love/am deciding between as rewards for all the work i've put in to get to this place. sometimes there's nothing better than my mom's optomistic spin on life, and her absolute full support of whatever it is i want to do in this crazy beautiful life.

even thinking about leaving miami brings me to tears at the end of this long long day, being away from my favorite professors, my beautiful campus, my family, all the familiar streets.

but there is excitement in the new. new orleans, dc, miami, i just don't know. i don't know when i will. but today, i felt home in that building, full of light, full of people telling me how much they loved it, full of opportunity and a great library and people with jobs and externships and clerkships and just a ridiculous amount of potential love and opportunity. i met so many cool people, and this is what life is going to be like. i am so excited for what's coming. i think this really could be it, and i think that's why it's exhausting. the idea of a new city, of transporting, of moving away, of a colder climate, it scares me in a way. i have so many thoughts swirling around, i could go on forever.

my cousin just came in to check on me, there is a party downstairs calling my name, and all i want to do is sleep.
c'est la vie baby.

tomorrow i am brunching and possibly hiking to a waterfall with two of my duke girls. then jetsetting back to miami for latenight parties and swimming in the ocean. this is my life, and i fucking love it.



-------------------------------------
archive. profile. notes. random.